A Trial of Blood and Steel Series by Joel Shepherd

I have tasted the first jug of bitter judgement gone awry. Doubt is forming in my mind as I recommended this series to a friend who assured me she loved fantasy series. And yet, she struggled to get through book one. I naturally don’t really blame myself. Had she told me she wanted a hot protagonist that all the male characters salivate over, well then this wasn’t exactly going to be the series I’d have chosen.

Sasha is a kick ass character and there is the mandatory love story and plenty of battles with goodies and baddies galore. BUT Sasha is a tomboy character. Not tight leather, whips or sexual innuendoes from her.

My friend also said the writing was hard to get through. The sentences were too long. Now, I take my friend as an intelligent person so I don’t think she meant it in a way that says she can only handle short sentences without any difficult language (refer to book hater section).  Plus she started reading this on a holiday, in a sunny environment with a distraction of cocktails… Really, the recommendation was all wrong for her. Shame on her (ok, and me)

Anyway, apparently the books have long sentences, the main character is a tomboy FYI and it isn’t a holiday read.  I’d not rate the world that has been created as, well, the most creative. But I enjoy it when characters have unnatural skills and scenes where the chick takes on 10 baddies at once and comes out unscathed.

One thought on “A Trial of Blood and Steel Series by Joel Shepherd

  1. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this just before. So nice to find somebody with some original thoughts on this topic. realy thank you for beginning this up. this webpage is some thing that is needed on the web, an individual with a small originality. valuable job for bringing something new to the internet!

    Youth NFL Jerseys

Leave a Reply

